Costa Book Awards

Costa Book Awards celebrates the most outstanding books of the year written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. Winner is announced January.

*Shirley has read it. DNF: Shirley did not finish it.  Links are to author websites

2018     Normal People, Sally Rooney DNF

2017     Jon McGregor Reservoir 13

2016     Sebastian Barry Days Without End *

2015     Kate Atkinson A God in Ruins

2014     Ali Smith How to Be Both

2013     Kate Atkinson Life after Life*

2012     Hilary Mantel, Bring up the Bodies *DNF

2011     Andrew Miller, Pure

2010     Maggie O’Farrell, The Hand That First Held Mine

2009     Colm Tóibin Brooklyn

2008     Sebastian Barry The Secret Scripture

2007     A.L. Kennedy, Day

2006     William Boyd Restless

2005     Ali Smith The Accidental

2004     Andrea Levy Small Island

2003     Mark Haddon The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time *DNF

2002     Michael Frayn Spies

2001     Patrick Neate Twelve Bar Blues

2000     Matthew Kneale English Passengers

99         Rose Tremain Music and Silence

98         Justin Cartwright Leading the Cheers

97         Jim Crace Quarantine

96         Beryl Bainbridge Every Man for Himself

95         Salman Rushdie The Moor’s Last Sigh

94         William Trevor Felicia’s Journey

93         Joan Brady Theory of War

92         Alasdair Gray Poor Things

91         Jane Gardam The Queen of the Tambourine

90         Nicholas Mosley Hopeful Monsters

89         Lindsay Clarke The Chymical Wedding

88         Salman Rushdie The Satanic Verses

87         Ian McEwan The Child in Time

86         Kazuo Ishiguro An Artist of the Floating World*

85         Peter Ackroyd Hawksmoor

84         Christopher Hope Kruger’s Alp

83         William Trevor Fools of Fortune

82         John Wain Young Shoulders

81         Maurice Leitch Silver’s City

80         David Lodge How Far Can You Go

79         Jennifer Johnston The Old Jest

78         Paul Theroux Picture Palace

77         Beryl Bainbridge Injury Time

76         William Trevor The Children of Dynmouth

75         William McIlvanney Docherty

74         Iris Murdoch The Sacred and Profane Love Machine

73         Shiva Naipaul The Chip-Chip Gatherers

72         Susan Hill The Bird of Night

71         Gerda Charles The Destiny Waltz