Genre Awards

*Shirley has read it. DNF: Shirley did not finish it.  Links are to author websites

Crime Novel of the Year (British and Irish authors) Winner announced July

2018       The Intrusions Stav Sherez
2017       Black Widow by Chris Brookmyre
2016       Clare Mackintosh, I Let You Go*
2015       Sarah Hilary Someone Else’s Skin
2014       Belinda Bauer Rubbernecker
2013       Denise Mina – Gods and Beasts
2012  Denise Mina The End of the Wasp Season
2011       Lee Child 61 Hours
2010       R J Ellory A Simple Act of Violence
2009       Mark Billingham Death Message
2008       Stef Penney The Tenderness of Wolves
2007       Allan Guthrie Two-Way Split
2006       Val McDermid The Torment of Others
2005       Mark Billingham Lazybones

Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction (UK, Ireland or Commonwealth) Winner announced June.

2019 2018  The Gallows Pole by Benjamin Myers
2017  Days Without End* Sebastian Barry
2016  Tightrope by Simon Mawer
2015  The ten thousand things John Spurling
2014  An Officer and a Spy, Robert Harris
2013 The Garden of Evening Mists* by Tan Twan Eng
2012 On Canaan’s Side by Sebastian Barry
2011 The Long Story by Andrea Levy
2010  Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel DNF