Irish Book Awards

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is apiba-websafe-logo.jpg

The Irish Book Awards are a set of industry-recognition awards set up, a coalition of Irish booksellers in 2007. An industry panel of leading booksellers and librarians compiles the shortlists. The winners are decided, an online web-poll divided into two constituencies, a public vote and a specialist Academy vote.
*Shirley has read it. DNF: Shirley did not finish it.  Links are to author websites

  • 2018 Novel of the Year Normal People, Sally Rooney DNF Crime Fiction Award Skin Deep, Liz Nugent
  • 2017  Book of the Year Atlas of the Irish Revolution, John Crowley, et al Novel of the Year Midwinter Break, Bernard MacLaverty Crime Fiction Award The Therapy House, Julie Parsons
  • 2016 Book of the Year and Novel of the Year Solar Bones, Mike McCormack Crime Fiction Award The Trespasser, Tana French
  • 2015 Book of the Year Asking For It, Louise O’Neill Novel of the Year *The Green Road, Anne Enright Crime Fiction Award After the Fire, Jane Casey
  • 2014 Book of the Year and Novel of the Year Academy Street, Mary Costello Crime Fiction Award Unravelling Oliver, Liz Nugent
  • 2013 Book of the Year Staring At Lakes, Michael Harding Novel of the Year The Guts, Roddy Doyle Crime Fiction Award The Doll’s House, Louise Phillips
  • 2012  Book of the Year The Spinning Heart, Donal Ryan Novel of the Year Ancient Light, John Banville Crime Fiction Award Broken Harbour, Tana French
  • 2011  Book of the Year Solace, Belinda McKeon Novel of the Year Mistaken, Neil Jordan Crime Fiction Award Bloodland, Alan Glynn
  • 2010 Novel of the Year *Room, Emma Donoghue Crime Fiction Award Dark Times in the City, Gene Kerrigan
  • 2009 Novel of the Year  The Secret Scripture, Sebastian Barry   Crime Fiction Blood Runs Cold, Alex Barclay
  • 2008 *The Gathering, Anne Enright
  • 2007  Winterwood, Patrick McCabe
  • 2006  The Sea, John Banville     
  • 2005 Havoc In Its Third Year, Ronan Bennett
  • 2004 Dancer, Colum McCann
  • 2003  That They May Face the Rising Sun, John McGahern