James Tait Black Memorial Prizes

*Shirley has read it. DNF: Shirley did not finish it.  Links are to author websites

The James Tait Black Prizes recognise the best fiction and biography books of the year. The James Tait Black Prizes are awarded by the University of Edinburgh’s School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures – the oldest centre for the study of English Literature in the world, established in 1762. The prizes are Britain’s longest-running literary awards. Winners are announced in August.

2017      Attrib, Eley Williams Short stories

2016      The Lesser Bohemians, Eimear McBride

2015      Benjamin Markovits – You Don’t Have to Live Like This

2014      In the Light of What We Know, Zia Haider Rahman

2013      Jim Crace, Harvest*

2012      The Deadman’s Pedal, Alan Warner

2011      You and I, Padgett Powell

2010      The Lotus Eaters, Tatjani Soli

2009      The Children’s Book, A.S. Byatt

2008      The Secret Scripture, Sebastian Barry

2007      Our Horses in Egypt, Rosalind Belben

2006      The Road, Cormac McCarthy*

2005     Saturday, Ian McEwan*

2004     GB84, David Peace

2003      Personality, Andrew O’Hagan

2002      The Corrections, Jonathan Franzen

2001      Something Like a House, Sid Smith

2000      White Teeth, Zadie Smith

1999     Renegade or Halo, Timothy Mo

1998      Master Georgie, Beryl Bainbridge

1997      Ingenious Pain, Andrew Miller                

1996     Joint Award:
Last Orders, Graham Swift 
Justine, Alice Thompson

1995     The Prestige, Christopher Priest

1994      The Folding Star, Alan Hollinghurst

1993      Crossing The River, Caryl Phillips

1992      Sacred Country, Rose Tremain

1991      Downriver, Iain Sinclair

1990      Brazzaville Beach, William Boyd

1989      A Disaffection, James Kelman

1987      A Season In The West, Piers Paul Read

1986      The Golden Bird: Two Orkney Stories, George Mackay Brown

1985      Persephone, Jenny Joseph

1984      Joint Award: Empire Of The Sun, J. G. Ballard* Nights At The Circus, Angela Carter

1983      Allegro Postillions, Jonathan Keates

1982      On The Black Hill, Bruce Chatwin

1981      Joint Award: Midnight’s Children, Salman Rushdie; The Mosquito Coast, Paul Theroux*

1980      Waiting For The Barbarians, J. M. Coetzee

1979      Darkness Visible, William Golding

1978      Plumb, Maurice Gee

1977      John Le Carré,The Honourable Schoolboy*

1976      John Banville, Doctor Copernicus

1975      Brian Moore, The Great Victorian Collection

1974      Monsieur, Or The Prince Of Darkness, Lawrence Durrell

1973      The Black Prince, Iris Murdoch

1972      G, John Berger

1971      A Guest Of Honour, Nadine Gordimer

1970      The Bird Of Paradise, Lily Powell

1969      Eva Trout, Elizabeth Bowen

1968      The Gasteropod, Maggie Ross

1967      Jerusalem The Golden, Margaret Drabble

1966      Joint Award: Langrishe, Christine Brooke-Rose; Go Down, Aidan Higgins

1965      The Mandelbaum Gate, Muriel Spark

1964      The Ice Saints, Frank Tuohy

1963      A Slanting Light, Gerda Charles

1962      Act Of Destruction, Ronald Hardy

1961      The Ha-Ha, Jennifer Dawson

1960      Imperial Caesar, Rex Warner

1959      The Devil’s Advocate, Morris West*

1958      The Middle Age Of Mrs Eliot, Angus Wilson

1957      At Lady Molly’s, Anthony Powell

1956      The Towers Of Trebizond, Rose Macauley

1955      Mother And Son, Ivy Compton-Burnett

1954      The New Men and The Masters (in sequence), C. P. Snow

1953      Troy Chimneys, Margaret Kennedy

1952      Men At Arms, Evelyn Waugh

1951      Father Goose, W. C. Chapman-Mortimer

1950      Through The Valley, Robert Henriquez

1949      The Far Cry, Emma Smith

1948      The Heart Of The Matter, Graham Greene*

1947      Eustace And Hilda, L. P. Hartley

1946      Poor Man’s Tapestry, G. Oliver Onions

1945      Travellers, L. A. G. Strong

1944      Young Tom, Forrest Reid

1943      Tales From Bectine, Bridge Mary Lavin

 1942     Monkey, Wu Ch’eng-en, Arthur Whaley

1941      A House Of Children, Joyce Cary

1940      The Voyage, Charles Morgan

1939      After Many A Summer Dies The Swan, Aldous Huxley

1938      Flying Colours, C. S. Forester (and A Ship Of The Line)

1937      Highland River, Neil M. Gunn

1936      South Riding, Winifred Holtby

1935      The Root And The Flower, L. H. Myers

1934      I, Claudius and Claudius The God Robert Graves

1933      England, Their England, A. G. Macdonell

1932      Boomerang, Helen Simpson

1931      Without My Cloak, Kate O’Brien

1930      Miss Mole, E. H. Young

1929      The Good Companions, J. B. Priestley

1928      Memoirs Of A Fox-Hunting Man, Siegfried Sassoon

1927      Portrait Of Clare, Francis Brett Young

1926      Adam’s Breed, Radclyffe Hall

1925      The Informer, Liam O’Flaherty

1924      A Passage To India, E. M. Forster*

1923      Riceyman Steps, Arnold Bennett

1922      Lady Into Fox, David Garnett

1921      Memoirs Of A Midget, Walter de la Mare

1920      The Lost Girl, D. H. Lawrence

1919      The Secret City, Hugh Walpole