Man Booker


The Man Booker Prize has been awarded each year since 1969 to the best original full-length novel, written in the English language, by a citizen of the Commonwealth of Nations or the Republic of Ireland. In 2014, it was opened for the first time to any work published in the United Kingdom and in the English language.

*Shirley has read it. DNF: Shirley did not finish it.  Links are to author websites

2018 Milkman, Anna Burns DNF

2017 Lincoln in the Bardo, George Saunders DNF
2016 The Sellout, Paul Beatty DNF
2015 A Brief History of Seven Killings, Marlon James DNF
2014 The Narrow Road to the Deep North, Richard Flanagan *
2013 The Luminaries, Eleanor Catton *
2012 Bring Up the Bodies, Hilary Mantel DNF
2011 The Sense of an Ending, Julian Barnes
2010 The Finkler Question, Howard Jacobson
Awarded 2010 as Lost Man Booker Prize: Troubles, J. G. Farrell
2009 Wolf Hall, Hilary Mantel DNF
2008 The White Tiger, Aravind Adiga
2007 The Gathering, Anne Enright *
2006 The Inheritance of Loss, Kiran Desai
2005 The Sea, John Banville
2004 The Line of Beauty, Alan Hollinghurst
2003 Vernon God Little, DBC Pierre
2002 Life of Pi, Yann Martel *
2001 True History of the Kelly Gang, Peter Carey
2000 The Blind Assassin, Margaret Atwood *
1999 Disgrace, J. M. Coetzee
1998 Amsterdam, Ian McEwan DNF
1997 The God of Small Things, Arundhati Roy
1996 Last Orders, Graham Swift
1995 The Ghost Road, Pat Barker
1994 How late it was, how late, James Kelman
1993 Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha, Roddy Doyle
1992 The English Patient, Michael Ondaatje; Sacred Hunger, Barry Unsworth
1991 The Famished Road, Ben Okri
1990 Possession: A Romance, A. S. Byatt
1989 The Remains of the Day, Kazuo Ishiguro *
1988 Oscar and Lucinda, Peter Carey *
1987 Moon Tiger, Penelope Lively
1986 The Old Devils, Kingsley Amis
1985 The Bone People, Keri Hulme
1984 Hotel du Lac, Anita Brookner
1983 Life & Times of Michael K, J. M. Coetzee
1982 Schindler’s Ark, Thomas Keneally
1981 Midnight’s Children, Salman Rushdie
1980 Rites of Passage, William Golding
1979 Offshore, Penelope Fitzgerald
1978 The Sea, the Sea, Iris Murdoch
1977 Staying On, Paul Scott
1976 Saville, David Storey
1975 Heat and Dust, Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
1974 The Conservationist, Nadine Gordimer; Holiday, Stanley Middleton
1973 The Siege of Krishnapur, J. G. Farrell
1972 G., John Berger
1971 In a Free State, V. S. Naipaul
1970 The Elected Member, Bernice Rubens
1969 Something to Answer For, P. H. Newby