Miles Franklin Awards

Logo_MFLA aqua stack on white background_sponsor

The Miles Franklin Literary Award is given to a novel of the highest literary merit that presents Australian life in any of its phases. It was established in 1957 through the will of writer Stella Miles Franklin.

*Shirley has read it. DNF: Shirley did not finish it.  Links are to author websites


2018: The Life to Come, Michelle de Kretser

2017: Extinctions, Josephine Wilson*

2016: Black Rock White City, A. S. Patrić*

2015 The Eye of the Sheep, Sofie Laguna

2014 All the Birds, Singing, Evie Wyld*

2013 Questions of Travel, Michelle de Kretser DNF

2012: All That I Am, Anna Funder*

2011: That Deadman Dance, Kim DNF

2010: Truth, Peter Temple

2009: Breath, Tim Winton

2008: The Time We Have Taken, Steven Carroll

2007: Carpentaria, Alexis Wright

2006: The Ballad of Desmond Kale, Roger McDonald*

2005: The White Earth, Andrew McGahan*

2004: The Great Fire, Shirley Hazzard

2003: Journey to the Stone Country, Alex Miller*

2002: Dirt Music, Tim Winton*

2001: Dark Palace, Frank Moorhouse

2000: Drylands, Thea Astley

1999: Eucalyptus, Murray Bail*

1998: Jack Maggs, Peter Carey

1997: The Glade Within the Grove, David Foster

1996: Highways to a War, Christopher Koch

1995: The Hand That Signed the Paper, Helen Demidenko

1994: The Grisly Wife, Rodney Hall

1993: The Ancestor Game, Alex Miller

1992: Cloudstreet, Tim Winton

1991: The Great World, David Malouf

1990: Oceana Fine, Tom Flood

1989: No award

1988: Oscar and Lucinda, Peter Carey

1987: Dancing on Coral, Glenda Adams

1986 The Well, Elizabeth Jolley

1985 The Doubleman, Christopher Koch

1984 Shallows, Tim Winton

1983 No award

1982 Just Relations, Rodney Hall

1981 Bliss, Peter Carey

1980 The Impersonators, Jessica Anderson

1979 A Woman of the Future, David Ireland

1978 Tirra Lirra by the River, Jessica Anderson

1977 Swords and Crowns and Rings, Ruth Park

1976 The Glass Canoe, David Ireland

1975 Poor Fellow My Country, Xavier Herbert

1974 The Mango Tree, Ronald McKie

1973 No award

1972 The Acolyte, Thea Astley

1971 The Unknown Industrial Prisoner, David Ireland

1970 A Horse of Air, Dal Stivens

1969 Clean Straw for Nothing, George Johnston

1968 Three Cheers for the Paraclete, Thomas Keneally

1967 Bring Larks and Heroes, Thomas Keneally

1966 Trap, Peter Mathers

1965 The Slow Natives, Thea Astley

1964 My Brother Jack, George Johnston*

1963 Careful, He Might Hear You, Sumner Locke Elliott

1962 The Well Dressed Explorer, Thea Astley

1961 Riders in the Chariot, Patrick White

1960 The Irishman, Elizabeth O’Conner

1959 The Big Fellow, Vance Palmer*

1958 To the Islands, Randolph Stow*

1957 Voss, Patrick White