Pulitzer Prize for Fiction


The Pulitzer Prize is an annual prize awarded for distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life.

*Shirley has read it. DNF: Shirley did not finish it.  Links are to author websites

2019 The Overstory, Richard Powers*

2018 Less, by Andrew Sean Greer

2017 The Underground Railroad, by Colson Whitehead

2016 The Sympathizer, Viet Thanh Nguyen*

2015 All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr*

2014 The Goldfinch, Donna Tartt

2013 The Orphan Master’s Son, Adam Johnson*

2012 No award given.

2011 A Visit From the Goon Squad, Jennifer Egan

2010 Tinkers, Paul Harding

2009 Olive Kitteridge, Elizabeth Strout

2008The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, Junot Díaz

2007 The Road, Cormac McCarthy*

2006 March, Geraldine Brooks *

2005 Gilead, Marilynne Robinson *

2004 The Known World, Edward P. Jones

2003 Middlesex, Jeffrey Eugenides

2002 Empire Falls, Richard Russo

2001 The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, Michael Chabon DNF

2000 Interpreter of Maladies, Jhumpa Lahiri

1999 The Hours, Michael Cunningham

1998 American Pastoral, Philip Roth

1997 Martin Dressler: The Tale of an American Dreamer, Steven Millhauser

1996 Independence Day, Richard Ford

1995 The Stone Diaries, Carol Shields

1994 The Shipping News, E. Annie Proulx

1993 A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain, Robert Olen Butler

1992 A Thousand Acres, Jane Smiley*

1991 Rabbit at Rest, John Updike

1990 The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love, Oscar Hijuelos

1989 Breathing Lessons, Anne Tyler ; Where I’m Calling From, Raymond Carver

1988 Beloved, Toni Morrison*

1987 A Summons to Memphis, Peter Taylor

1986 Lonesome Dove, Larry McMurtry*

1985 Foreign Affairs, Alison Lurie

1984 Ironweed, William Kennedy

1983 The Color Purple, Alice Walker*

1982 Rabbit Is Rich, John Updike

1981 A Confederacy of Dunces, John Kennedy Toole

1980 The Executioner’s Song, Norman Mailer

1979 The Stories of John Cheever, John Cheever

1978 Elbow Room, James Alan McPherson

1977 No award given

1976 Humboldt’s Gift, Saul Bellow

1975 The Killer Angels, Michael Shaara

1974 No award given

1973 The Optimist’s Daughter, Eudora Welty

1972 Angle of Repose, Wallace Stegner

1971 No award given

1970 The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford, Jean Stafford

1969 House Made of Dawn, N. Scott Momaday

1968 The Confessions of Nat Turner by William Styro

1967 The Fixer by Bernard Malamud

1966 The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter by Katherine Anne Porter

1965 The Keepers of the House by Shirley Ann Grau

1964 No award given

1963 The Reivers by William Faulkner (posthumous win)

1962 The Edge of Sadness by Edwin O’Connor

1961 To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee*

1960 Advise and Consent by Allen Drury

1959 The Travels of Jaimie McPheeters by Robert Lewis Taylor

1958 A Death in the Family by James Agee (posthumous win)

1957 No award given

1956 Andersonville by MacKinlay Kantor

1955 A Fable by William Faulkner

1954 No award given

1953 The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway

1952 The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk

1951 The Town by Conrad Richter

1950 The Way West by A. B. Guthrie, Jr.

1949: Guard of Honor by James Gould Cozzens

1948: Tales of the South Pacific by James A. Michener*

1947: All the King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren

1946: no award given

1945: A Bell for Adano by John Hersey

1944: Journey in the Dark by Martin Flavin

1943: Dragon’s Teeth by Upton Sinclair

1942: In This Our Life by Ellen Glasgow

1941: no award given

1940: The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck*

1939: The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

1938: The Late George Apley by John Phillips Marquand

1937: Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell*

1936: Honey in the Horn by Harold L. Davis

1935: Now in November by Josephine Winslow Johnson

1934: Lamb in His Bosom by Caroline Miller

1933: The Store by Thomas Sigismund Stribling

1932: The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck*

1931: Years of Grace by Margaret Ayer Barnes

1930: Laughing Boy by Oliver La Farge

1929: Scarlet Sister Mary by Julia Peterkin

1928: The Bridge of San Luis Rey by Thornton Wilder

1927: Early Autumn by Louis Bromfield

1926: Arrowsmith by Sinclair Lewis (declined prize)

1925: So Big by Edna Ferber

1924: The Able McLaughlins by Margaret Wilson

1923: One of Ours by Willa Cather

1922: Alice Adams by Booth Tarkington

1921: The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

1920: no award given

1919: The Magnificent Ambersons by Booth Tarkington

1918: His Family by Ernest Poole