The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards

pmla-arts-website-promo-imageThe Prime Minister’s Literary Awards celebrate outstanding literary talent in Australia and the valuable contribution Australian writing makes to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life. Awards are presented in six categories: fiction; non-fiction; young adult literature; children’s literature; poetry; Australian history.

*Shirley has read it. DNF: Shirley did not finish it.  Links are to author websites


2018: Border Districts, Gerald Murnane DNF

2017: Their Brilliant Careers, Ryan O’Neill

2016: The Life of Houses, Lisa Gorton

2015: The Golden Age, Joan London*

2014: Joint winners: A World of Other People, Steven Carroll, and The Narrow Road to the Deep North Richard Flanagan*

2013: Questions of Travel, Michelle de Kretser DNF

2012: Foal’s Bread, Gillian Mears

2011: Traitor, Stephen Daisley

2010: Dog Boy, Eva Hornung

2009: The Boat, Nam Le

2008: The Zookeeper’s War, Steven Conte