The Women’s Prize for Fiction

The Women’s Prize for Fiction (previously Orange Prize and Baileys Prize) annually awarded to a female author of any nationality for the best original full-length novel written in English, and published in the United Kingdom in the preceding year. Winner is announced in June.

*Shirley has read it. DNF: Shirley did not finish it.  Links are to author websites

2018 Naomi Alderman The Power

2016 Lisa McInerney, The Glorious Heresies

2015 Ali Smith, How to Be Both

2014 Eimear McBride A Girl Is a Half-formed Thing

2013 A. M. Homes, May We Be Forgiven

2012 Madeline Miller The Song of Achilles

2011 Téa Obreht, The Tiger’s Wife

2010 Barbara Kingsolver, The Lacuna *DNF

2009 Marilynne Robinson, Home*

2008 Rose Tremain, The Road Home

2007 Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Half of a Yellow Sun*

2006 Zadie Smith, On Beauty

2005 Lionel Shriver, We Need to Talk About Kevin

2004 Andrea Levy, Small Island

2003 Valerie Martin, Property

2002 Ann Patchett, Bel Canto*

2001 Kate Grenville, The Idea of Perfection

2000 Linda Grant, When I Lived in Modern Times

1999 Suzanne Berne, A Crime in the Neighborhood

1998 Carol Shields, Larry’s Party

1997 Anne Michaels, Fugitive Pieces

1996 Helen Dunmore, A Spell of Winter